As per CBSE norms First Language English is mandatory for all the students. The Second Language of the student shall either be Hindi or Kannada. If a student chooses Hindi as his/her Second Language, Kannada will become his/her Third Language and vice-versa. As per the rules the Third Language should be taught only from V- Grade onwards.